Overview of the Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT) (Reference 1)

- The APT (Asia-Pacific Telecommunity) is an intergovernmental organization established in 1979 with the aim of promoting the balanced development of information and communications technology (ICT) in the Asia-Pacific region.
- Japan has been a member of the APT since it was founded and is its largest donor.

1. Purpose

To promoting the balanced development of information and communications technology (ICT) in the Asia-Pacific region by promoting development of human resources through training and seminars (education, projects, etc.), and coordinating regional policies such as telecommunications standardization and frequency allocation.

2. Members

- •Member countries: 38 countries/regions
- Associate members: 4 countries/regions
- •Affiliate members: 140 companies (telecommunications carriers, manufacturers, etc.)

3. Secretariat (Bangkok, Thailand)

Secretary General: Masanori Kondo (Japan) Deputy Secretary General: Liu Ziping (China) 25 secretariat staff members (as of May 2025) (Three Japanese staff members, including Secretary General Kondo)





Secretary General Kondo Deputy Secretary General Liu

Member countries (38 countries/regions)

- · Afghanistan (Islamic Emirate of)
- Australia
- · Bangladesh (People's Republic of)
- Bhutan (Kingdom of)
- Brunei Darussalam
- · Cambodia (Kingdom of)
- · China (People's Republic of)
- Fiii (Republic of)
- India (Republic of)
- · Indonesia (Republic of)
- Iran (Islamic Republic of)
- Korea (Republic of)
- · Democratic People's Republic of Korea
- Kiribati (Republic of)
- · Lao People's Democratic Republic
- Malaysia
- Maldives (Republic of)
- Marshall Islands (Republic of the)
- Micronesia (Federated States of)
- Myanmar (Republic of the Union of)
- Nauru (Republic of)
- · Nepal (Federal Democratic Republic of)
- New Zealand
- · Pakistan (Islamic Republic of)
- Palau (Republic of)
- Papua New Guinea
- Philippines (Republic of the)
- Samoa (Independent State of)
- · Singapore (Republic of)
- · Solomon Islands
- Sri Lanka (Democratic Socialist Republic of)
- Thailand (Kingdom of)
- Tonga (Kingdom of)
- Tuvalu
- · Vanuatu (Republic of)
- · Vietnam (Socialist Republic of)

Associate Members (4 countries/regions)

- Cook Islands
- · Hong Kong, China
- · Macao, China
- Niue